The Galapagos Islands are a small archipelago of islands belonging to Ecuador in the eastern Pacific Ocean. The islands are quite remote and isolated, lying some 1000 km (620 miles) west of the South American continent. The Galapagos archipelago consists of 13 main islands and 6 smaller isles, which together embrace some 50,000 sq km (19,500 sq miles) of ocean.

Strict controls on tourist access are maintained in an effort to protect the natural habitats and all visitors must be accompanied by a national park-certified naturalist tour guide. (

In the wake of Hurricane Katrina, one Tulane University student decided to do her part to revitalize her campus and community. Join Erica Trani, Tulane alumnus and now business entrepreneur, to learn about her experiences with fair trade in economically developing areas. Inspired by travels to Ecuador, she returned to the states to begin IN Exchange, an on-campus enterprise that exhibits local and global goods for a fair price.

Syndicate content